Tulip Trough

The other little project I did today is to plant 60 tulip bulbs in this old trough I found over at my Father-in-law’s house. I broke up the old soil in it and added a peaty soilless mix that contains time release fertilizer pellets. Then the bulbs were scattered and pressed in pointing up. (If you have never done this before, the tip goes up and the tiny flat root plate goes down. Sometimes it is a little hard to tell.) Then over the top went more soilless media. They will be protected from animals in this container. It should get chilled in the garage all winter but not frozen really hard.
I saw this done this past May when I went to Keukenhopf in the Netherlands. They used so many bulbs that it made a stunningly thick display. I purchased these bulbs at a home store for ten dollars per bag. I used two bags for this trough. The flowers are going to be a mixed pastel collection. One bag is mid season and one bag is late. I expect them to be quite tall too. We will see if I get a long season of bloom out of them. Now to water them and wait for SPRING!

1 Comment

  1. Billie said,

    September 24, 2012 at 7:19 PM

    I can’t wait ’til spring to see the pictures.


Leave a Reply

