Our Tragic Universe by Scarlett Thomas 3.5/5

I just keep reading and reading strange books. This book is about a girl writing a book. It is about a basic story of girl loses boy; gets new boy. It is so well done, though it does not read as a formula story. Scarlett Thomas uses all her experiences teaching writing workshops in real life to embellish a very interesting fictional persona. The basic story is, I suspect, autobiographical on some level. She tells about reading and reviewing all these pseudoscience books for a newspaper piece and all the interesting parallels in real life as in the books. I really like this book very well; really liked it higher than my rating for it would be. I rated it as I think the average reader would rate it. I really enjoyed the British slang, the descriptions of the meals, the sessions she has with her drunken literary friends, etc. It was a really endearing and cute book. I bet all the people who have attended Thomas’ real-life workshops on novel writing will enjoy her style too. There is a lot of internal dialogue and emotional angst. A good read.

Leave a Reply

